Skip Main Navigation

About Us

External Selection Committee (ESC)

The ESC serves the key role of reviewing project applications submitted to the Technology Development Program and making funding recommendations. The committee is comprised of twelve members who represent broad clinical, science, finance, business development and commercialization backgrounds. Collectively they review, score, rank, and make recommendations as to which projects the Center should fund. The Committee convenes twice a year as the final internal selection process step of each funding cycle.

ESC Members

John M Rice, PhD

John M Rice, PhD (Chair)

Director,
Life Sciences CincyTech LLC

Managing Partner
Triathlon Medical Ventures

513-703-1404 jrice@cincytechusa.com

View Bio
Mike Bunker

Mike Bunker

CEO
Cryothermic Systems, Inc.

877-528-2888 mbunker@
cryothermicsystems.com

View Bio
Steven Girouard, PhD

Steven Girouard, PhD

President and CEO
Securus Medical Group

216-658-5478 sgirouard@securusmg.com

View Bio
Steven Gullans, PhD

Steven Gullans, PhD

Managing Director
Excel Medical Ventures

617-450-9800 x1203 sgullans@emven.com

View Bio
John Harrington, PhD

John Harrington, PhD

Executive Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer
Athersys, Inc.

216-431-9900 jharrington@athersys.com

View Bio
Peter Kleinhenz, MBA

Peter Kleinhenz, MBA

Managing Director
Venture Group CID Capital

614-222-8185 peter@cidcap.com

View Bio
Timothy J. Miller, Ph.D

Timothy J. Miller, PhD

President & CEO
Abeona Therapeutics, Inc.

tmiller@
abeonatherapeutics.com

View Bio
Kenneth L Morand, PhD

Kenneth L Morand, PhD

New Business Creation
The Procter and Gamble Co.

513-780-7943 Morand.kl@pg.com

View Bio
Josh C Nickols PhD

Josh C Nickols PhD

Executive in
Residence, Life Sciences CincyTech USA

(615) 554-7000 josh.nickols@gmail.com

View Bio
Joseph Pastore, PhD

Joseph Pastore, PhD

Senior Vice President, Clinical Product Development
Juventas Therapeutics

216-273-4000 jpastore@juventasinc.com

View Bio
Matthew Pollman, MD

Matthew Pollman, MD

Cardiologist, Medical Industry Executive, Entrepreneur

415-606-3909 mpollman@sbcglobal.net

View Bio
Roy L. Silverstein, M.D.

Roy L. Silverstein, M.D.

Professor and Chairman, Department of Medicine Medical College of Wisconsin

414-805-0518 rsilverstein@mcw.edu

View Bio

End of main page content.